Transparency into information use.
The GDPR will likely require organizations provide more information about how individuals’ information is used.
How Box enables transparency.
Here at Box, transparency is an important part of our business process. Our product is designed to provide customers with full control of their contents and ways to access it.
Box is designed in a way that customer administrators have the ability to grant or rescind access to their Box account through the Admin Console. This means customers are the ones that control who can access the content.
Product release communication.
Feature changes and product releases are communicated to customers through release notes on the Box Admin Console. Our customers will receive the most up-to-date information in a clear and easily accessible way.
Visibility into processing.
Under the GDPR, individuals can access a copy of their data and know where their data is being processed.
How Box enables processing visibility.
Here at Box, our customers can easily exercise these rights with the following product features:
Accessible usage logs. Customers can export logs through the customer’s Admin. Console or APIs.
Effortless downloads. Every file can be easily downloaded for local access.
Third-party integration management. Customers can quick view and manage all of their third-party integrations all in one place.
Right to be forgotten. Individuals can ask to delete their personal data.
How Box enables the right to be forgotten.
Here at Box, our customers are in control around content retention and deletion.
Customers can enable the “Trash” function, which allows users to have their own Trash folder and enable them to retrieve items they may have deleted.
Customers can also set the parameters around how long files will be kept in Trashed files before actual deletion process starts. The deletion process will begin at the expiration of this time period.
Trash permissions. Customers can also designate who has the ability to permanently delete content in the Trash folder. Options can be set at Everybody, Admin Only, Admins and Co-Admins Only, or Nobody. If this parameter is set to allow a user to empty their trash, the deletion process will begin.